NADOHE Standards of Professional Practice Institute (SPPI)
June 13 - 16, 2018
Georgia Institute of Technology, Global Learning Center
Atlanta, GA

I wish SPPI had been available three years ago when I first became a Diversity Officer. It was the best professional development I've ever experienced. The discussion and learning among the 2017 SPPI class was unparalleled. This and the faculty engagement in and beyond the classroom has resulted in one of the best investments my institution has made in order to further inclusive excellence on our campus. - Angela Allen, Chief Diversity Officer, West Texas A & M University, 2017 SPPI class

Sold Out!
Member Registration Fee
$2,500; includes course materials and group meals
Space is limited so reserve your seat today!

This unparalleled initiative is designed to prepare the next generation of research and practice based diversity higher education leaders to become proficient in the Standards of Professional Practice for Chief Diversity Officers. A multi-day program, the SPPI is modeled after other proven and respected professional development programs in higher education. Each day will be structured to focus on one or more of the standards of professional practice and will be led by a primary and secondary faculty member that has served as a college or university chief diversity officer or senior administrator.


The 2018 Standards of Professional Practice Institute (SPPI) will take place at the Georgia Institute of Technology, Global Learning Center, 84 5th Street, NW, Atlanta, Georgia, (404)385-3500.

The Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, 800 Spring Street, NW, Atlanta, GA, 30308, (404)347-9440, is the designated hotel and a special rate, $169 a night plus applicable taxes and fees, is available to SPPI registrants. More information will be provided upon registration for the event.


Faculty members include:


  • Dr. Nancy “Rusty” Barcelo, Past President, Northern New Mexico College

  • Dr. Mitchell Chang, Professor of Higher Education and Organizational Change and Asian American Studies, University of California, Los Angeles 

  • Dr. Archie Ervin, Vice President, Institute Diversity, Georgia Institute of Technology

  • Dr. Paulette Granberry Russell, Senior Advisor to the President for Diversity, Michigan State University

  • Dr. William B. Harvey, Founding President, NADOHE

  • Dr. Joan Holmes, Special Assistant to the President for Equity and Special Programs (Retired), Hillsborough Community College

  • Dr. Benjamin D. Reese, Jr., Vice President, Institutional Equity, Duke University

  • Dr. Debbie M. Seeberger, Assistant Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion, Towson University

  • Dr. Christine Stanley, Vice President and Associate Provost Emerita, Texas A & M University

  • Dr. Clyde Wilson Pickett, Chief Diversity Officer, Minnesota State 

  • Dr. Roger L. Worthington, Professor and Chair, Department of Counseling, Higher Education, and Special Education, University of Maryland, College Park


For more information, contact NADOHE at 


Leading Higher Education Towards Inclusive Excellence